fr | de | en

Casino Luxembourg

OtherLectures

Lee Stevens © Paul Niedermayer

© Luxembourg Art Week

9 — 11.11.2018 Extra Muros

Luxembourg Art Week 2018

For the third time in a row, Casino Luxembourg is a partner of the LUXEMBOURG ART WEEK.

This year again, Luxembourg Art Week, in partnership with other institutions, has imagined a rich and varied program of lectures, readings and performances enabling everyone to become familiar with the aesthetic, political and social issues of art.

Exhibition

Class Trip

Curator: Casey Detrow

Artists: Andrew Black, Xenia Taniko, Paul Niedermayer, Mary-Audrey Ramirez, Lee Stevens, Vince Tillotson

The starting point of Class Trip are the social origins and history of two pastimes: the picnic and the safari. While both are synonyms of leisure, travel and entertainment, they are also, traditionally speaking, foremost (neo)colonial, bourgeois activities.

Class Trip seeks - not without humour - to invert the gaze through a lens that centres on a queering of gender, a critical class consciousness, and a postcolonial approach to art production. Considering the site-specific nature of the Luxembourg Art Week art fair, Class Trip works around the idea of economic voyeurism as a form of art consumption and encourages viewers to consider who is controlling the narrative of art production. Class Trip includes the work of six artists based in Berlin, Glasgow and Luxembourg whose pieces run the gamut from dark emotional and political morbidity to a bright, amusing extravaganza, incorporating both high-brow and low-brow aesthetics and meanings the interpretation of which remains up to the viewer.

Art Talks

Accompanying the publication of the 2018/2019 edition of DADADA magazine, Maison Moderne and Casino Luxembourg are hosting the programme of Art Talks at LUXEMBOURG ART WEEK, Halle Victor Hugo 60, avenue Victor Hugo L-1750 Luxembourg

Every day between 13:00 and 13:45, Luxembourgish artists and/or other actors from the local scene are invited to exchange their views on a given topic.

9.11.2018

ARTLX GOES BERLIN: LUXEMBURGER KUENSTLER DER BERLINER KUNSTSZENE
With Casey Detrow, Mary-Audrey Ramirez and Vince Tillotson
Host: Bettina Heldenstein, Casino Luxembourg

Berlin is probably not only the most renowned and dynamic art scene in Europe today, but also the most diverse. The exhibition  Class Trip presents several young artists from this scene, including Mary-Audrey Ramirez (b. 1990 in Luxembourg), who graduated as Meisterschüler of Professor Thomas Zipp at the Berlin Universität der Künste in 2016, and Vince Tillotson (b. 1989 in Luxembourg), who also graduated as Meisterschüler of Professor Thomas Zipp  at the Berlin Universität der Künste in 2017 and has been a board member of Schwules Museum Berlin since 2016.

Class Trip is curated by Casey Detrow (b. 1988 in the USA; lives and works in Luxembourg and Berlin). Detrow's curatorial approach is informed by feminist theories and Marxist feminism, which centre on a critical analysis of society from the perspective of gender, race and class, and their impact on everyday life.

10.11.2018
ARTLX GOES VENICE: LUXEMBOURG ARTISTS AT THE VENICE BIENNALE
With Catherine Lorent and Filip Markiewicz
Host: Céline Coubray, editor-in-chief , DADADA

Since 1999, Luxembourg has been organising exhibitions in its national pavilion at the Venice Biennale. In 2013, Catherine Lorent (b. 1977 in Munich, currently lives and works in Berlin) represented the Grand Duchy with Relegation, a project informed by notions of the Baroque and an expanded concept of art. Also following a multidisciplinary approach, Filip Markiewicz (b. 1980 in Esch/Alzette, lives and works in Luxembourg and Hamburg) presented Paradiso Lussemburgo in 2015. The two artists will share their respective experiences and discuss the evolution of their work since the Venice Biennale.
Catherine Lorent is represented at LUXEMBOURG ART WEEK with Transitus Immobilis, a collaboration with Claudia Passeri and Serge Ecker, and at Polarraum by the German curator Enno Wallis. Filip Markiewicz is currently presenting his project Celebration Factory at Casino Luxembourg.

11.11.2018

ARTLX GOES LUXEMBOURG: NEW ARTISTS' STUDIOS IN LUXEMBOURG

With Sara Noel Costa de Araujo and Trixi Weis
Host: Céline Coubray, editor-in-chief , DADADA

Like all professionals, artists need proper workspaces. But with the increasing strain on the housing market in Luxembourg, rental prices are soaring. This means that artists struggle to find decent workshops and are often forced to make do with a table in a shared flat or the cellar of their parents' home. While local councils have been addressing the issue, their measures currently fail to meet the demand. And yet solutions exist.
Sara Noel Costa de Araujo, architect and founder of studio SNCDA (Luxembourg/Brussels), will present her modular workshop, an autonomous and versatile structure. Trixi Weis, artist and president of the Luxembourg Association of Visual Artists (Association des artistes plasticiens du Luxembourg - AAPL), will discuss the current situation and the advances obtained by the AAPL on this sensitive issue.

09-11.11.2018

Friday 11H00-21H00

Saturday 11H00-19H30

Sunday 11H00-18H00

Halle Victor Hugo

60, avenue Victor Hugo

L-1750 Luxembourg

images

Lee Stevens © Paul Niedermayer

© Luxembourg Art Week

fr | de | en

Casino Luxembourg

AutreConférence

Lee Stevens © Paul Niedermayer

© Luxembourg Art Week

9 — 11.11.2018 Extra Muros

Luxembourg Art Week 2018

Pour la troisième fois consécutive, le Casino Luxembourg - Forum d'art contemporain est partenaire de LUXEMBOURG ART WEEK 2018.

Cette année encore, Luxembourg Art Week, en partenariat avec d'autres institutions, a concocté un programme riche et varié de conférences, lectures et performances devant permettre à tout un chacun de se familiariser avec les enjeux esthétiques, politiques et sociaux de l'art d'aujourd'hui.

Exposition

Class Trip
Commissaire : Casey Detrow
Artistes : Andrew Black, Xenia Taniko, Paul Niedermayer, Mary-Audrey Ramirez, Lee Stevens., Vince Tillotson

L'exposition Class Trip (Voyage de classe) prend pour point de départ les origines sociales et l'histoire de deux passe-temps populaires : le pique-nique et le safari. Bien que synonymes de loisir, de voyage et de divertissement, il s'agit en premier lieu d'activités (néo-)coloniales et bourgeoises.

Class Trip cherche non sans humour à inverser le regard en privilégiant la subversion des genres sexuels, une conscience de classe critique et une approche postcoloniale à la production d'art. Prenant en compte le caractère in situ de la foire d'art Luxembourg Art Week, Class Trip s'articule autour de l'idée du voyeurisme économique comme forme de consommation d'art et incite le spectateur à se demander qui contrôle le récit de la production artistique.

Class Trip présente le travail de six artistes basés à Berlin, Glasgow et Luxembourg, dont les œuvres couvrent un large spectre de sentiments, allant d'une profonde morbidité émotionnelle et politique à une forme d'extravagance enjouée et amusante, et déploient des esthétiques et des significations diverses qu'il incombe au spectateur d'interpréter à sa guise.

En collaboration avec le Casino Luxembourg : 

Art Talks

À l'occasion de la parution de l'édition 2018/2019 du magazine DADADA, Maison Moderne et le Casino Luxembourg se sont associés pour organiser les Art Talks à la LUXEMBOURG ART WEEK, Halle Victor Hugo 60, avenue Victor Hugo L-1750 Luxembourg

Tous les jours de 13 h 00 à 13 h 45, des artistes luxembourgeois et/ou autres acteurs de la scène culturelle locale sont invités à discuter autour d'un sujet donné. 

9.11.2018

ArtLx goes Berlin: Luxemburger Künstler der Berliner Kunstszene
Avec Casey Detrow, Mary-Audrey Ramirez und Vince Tillotson
Modération : Bettina Heldenstein, Casino Luxembourg

Actuellement, Berlin est probablement la scène artistique la plus connue et la plus dynamique d'Europe, mais avant tout aussi la plus diversifiée. L'exposition Class Trip présente plusieurs jeunes artistes de cette scène, parmi lesquels Mary-Audrey Ramirez (née en 1990 au Luxembourg), diplômée Meisterschüler du professeur Thomas Zipp à l'Université des Arts de Berlin en 2016, et Vince Tillotson (né en 1989 au Luxembourg), également diplômé Meisterschüler du professeur Thomas Zipp à l'Université des Arts de Berlin en 2017 et membre du conseil d'administration du Schwules Museum Berlin depuis 2016.

Class Trip est organisée par Casey Detrow (née en 1988 aux États-Unis ; vit et travaille à Luxembourg et à Berlin). Son approche curatoriale est nourrie par les théories féministes et le féminisme marxiste, qui privilégient une analyse critique de la société sous l'angle du genre, de la race et de la classe pour évaluer leur impact sur la vie quotidienne.

10.11.2018

ArtLx goes Venice : Les artistes luxembourgeois à la Biennale de Venise


Avec Catherine Lorent et Filip Markiewicz
Modération : Céline Coubray, rédactrice en chef, DADADA

Depuis 1999, le Luxembourg dispose d'un pavillon à la Biennale d'art de Venise. En 2013, Catherine Lorent (née en 1977 à Munich, vit et travaille actuellement à Berlin) y a représenté le Grand-Duché du Luxembourg avec Relegation, un concept baroque et élargi de l'art. Avec une approche toute aussi multidisciplinaire, l'artiste Filip Markiewicz (né en 1980 à Esch/Alzette, vit et travaille à Luxembourg et Hambourg) y a présenté en 2015 Paradiso Lussemburgo. Les deux artistes parleront de leurs expériences et de l'évolution de leur travail depuis la Biennale de Venise. 
Catherine Lorent est présente à la LUXEMBOURG ART WEEK avec le projet collectif Transitus Immobilis, réalisé en collaboration avec Claudia Passeri et Serge Ecker, et sur le stand de Polarraum du curateur allemand Enno Wallis. Filip Markiewicz présente actuellement son projet Celebration Factory au Casino Luxembourg.

11.11.2018

ArtLx goes Luxembourg : Nouveaux ateliers d'artistes à Luxembourg

Avec Sara Noel Costa de Araujo et Trixi Weis

Modération : Céline Coubray, rédactrice en chef, DADADA

Comme tous les professionnels, les artistes ont également besoin d'un espace de travail pour créer. Or la situation foncière au Luxembourg étant très tendue, les prix des mètres carrés s'envolent. Dans cette situation, difficile de parvenir à trouver un espace autre que sa table de salon ou un coin de la cave de la maison familiale pour travailler. Si les autorités publiques tentent de pallier ce manque de surfaces d'atelier, leurs mesures ne parviennent pas à combler la demande. Pourtant, des solutions existent.

Sara Noel Costa de Araujo, architecte et fondatrice du studio SNCDA (Luxembourg/Bruxelles), nous présentera son module d'atelier autonome et facile à implanter. Trixi Weis, artiste et présidente de l'Association des artistes plasticiens du Luxembourg (AAPL), fera le point sur les dossiers en cours et les avancées obtenues par l'AAPL sur ce sujet.

9–11.11.2018

VENDREDI 11H00-21H00

SAMEDI 11H00-19H30

DIMANCHE 11H00-18H00

 

Halle Victor Hugo

60, avenue Victor Hugo

L-1750 Luxembourg

images

Lee Stevens © Paul Niedermayer

© Luxembourg Art Week