fr | de | en

Casino Luxembourg

Exhibitions

Adriana Disman, Thresholding, 2016/2019. Performance à la Fonderie Darling, Montréal, dans le cadre de l'exposition Buveurs de quintessences. Photo : Christian Bujold.

Vue de l'exposition Buveurs de quintessences au Casino Luxembourg, 2019. Marie-Claire Blais, Entrevoir le jour_horizon 7, 2014. Photo : Jessica Theis.

Vue de l'exposition Buveurs de quintessences au Casino Luxembourg, 2019. János Sugár, Fire in the Museum, 2008/2018. Feu constant pendant la durée de l'exposition. Photo : Jessica Theis.

19.1 — 7.4.2019

Buveurs de quintessences

artist(s): Fortner Anderson, Steve Bates, Marie-Claire Blais, Olivia Boudreau, Claude Closky, Marie Cool Fabio Balducci, Alexandre David, Adriana Disman, Kitty Kraus, Stéphane La Rue, Kelly Mark, János Sugár
curator(s): Caroline Andrieux

The exhibition title, Buveurs de quintessences (Drinkers of Quintessences), is taken from Charles Baudelaire's poem "Loss of a Halo" in which the author relates the experience of an artist who inadvertently lost his distinctive attribute but ends up accommodating this loss quite well. He is freed from the pressure surrounding his status as a creator and can mix anonymously with the crowd.

Hence, the artist's personality and expertise are challenged and the fundamental principles of art are shaken. With Marcel Duchamp and Kasimir Malevitch as precursors, this artistic attitude based on the notion of void was built into a paradigm in the 1960s, when artists took position against the exaggerated expressivity then holding sway by seeking to subtract as much content as possible from their works and leave their subjectivity aside. At the same time they became fascinated by the infinite; through the notion of the void, they merged in their practices a critical point of view and a search for the absolute.

Buveurs de quintessences was first shown at the Darling Foundry in Montreal (Quebec) in 2018. The exhibition brings together Canadian and European artists whose work is driven by such a search for aesthetic experience. Presenting minimal works of art, apparently empty of content, ephemeral and furtive, that question their own status and embody a quest for the infinite, the exhibition takes position against the "society of the spectacle." A hymn to meditation, Buveurs de quintessences brings together works in search of transcendence made by artists whose main concern is to emphasize the viewers' direct experience of the work, bringing them to reflect on the very essence of art but also inviting them to let themselves be carried away by an experience beyond the gaze.

partners

In collaboration with: Fonderie Darling, Montreal.

With the support of: Conseil des arts du Canada, Conseil des arts et lettres de Québec, Conseil des arts de Montréal, Délégation générale du Québec à Bruxelles, Ambassade du Canada, Botschaft der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in Luxemburg and Institut Français du Luxembourg.

images

Adriana Disman, Thresholding, 2016/2019. Performance à la Fonderie Darling, Montréal, dans le cadre de l'exposition Buveurs de quintessences. Photo : Christian Bujold.

Vue de l'exposition Buveurs de quintessences au Casino Luxembourg, 2019. Marie-Claire Blais, Entrevoir le jour_horizon 7, 2014. Photo : Jessica Theis.

Vue de l'exposition Buveurs de quintessences au Casino Luxembourg, 2019. János Sugár, Fire in the Museum, 2008/2018. Feu constant pendant la durée de l'exposition. Photo : Jessica Theis.

Vue de l'exposition Buveurs de quintessences au Casino Luxembourg, 2019. Steve Bates, Run out and on to Infinity, 2018. Photo: Jessica Theis. 

Vue de l'exposition Buveurs de quintessences au Casino Luxembourg, 2019. Marie Cool Fabio Balducci, Sans titre, 2003/2018. Photo: Jessica Theis. 

Vue de l'exposition Buveurs de quintessences au Casino Luxembourg, 2019. Kelly Mark, The Kiss, 2007. Photo: Jessica Theis.

fr | de | en

Casino Luxembourg

Ausstellungen

Adriana Disman, Thresholding, 2016/2019. Performance à la Fonderie Darling, Montréal, dans le cadre de l'exposition Buveurs de quintessences. Photo : Christian Bujold.

Vue de l'exposition Buveurs de quintessences au Casino Luxembourg, 2019. Marie-Claire Blais, Entrevoir le jour_horizon 7, 2014. Photo : Jessica Theis.

Vue de l'exposition Buveurs de quintessences au Casino Luxembourg, 2019. János Sugár, Fire in the Museum, 2008/2018. Feu constant pendant la durée de l'exposition. Photo : Jessica Theis.

19.1 — 7.4.2019

Buveurs de quintessences

künstler: Fortner Anderson, Steve Bates, Marie-Claire Blais, Olivia Boudreau, Claude Closky, Marie Cool Fabio Balducci, Alexandre David, Adriana Disman, Kitty Kraus, Stéphane La Rue, Kelly Mark, János Sugár
kurator(en): Caroline Andrieux

Der Ausstellungstitel Buveurs de quintessences (Trinker von Quintessenzen) stammt aus dem Gedicht „Verlust der Aureole" von Charles Baudelaire. Darin erzählt der Autor von den Erfahrungen eines Dichters, dem versehentlich sein künstlerisches Attribut abhanden kommt und der aber schließlich mit dem Verlust ganz gut zurechtkommt: Er ist jetzt von dem Druck befreit, der mit seinem Status als Künstler verbunden war, und kann sich anonym unter die Menge mischen.

Die Persönlichkeit des Künstlers und dessen Können werden damit in Frage gestellt und die grundlegenden Prinzipien der Kunst ins Wanken gebracht. Marcel Duchamp und Kasimir Malewitsch waren die Vorläufer dieser künstlerischen Bewegung, die auf der Idee der Leere fußt und sich in den 1960er-Jahren zu einem neuen künstlerischen Paradigma entwickelte. Damals wandten sich zahlreiche Künstler und Künstlerinnen gegen die herrschende, übersteigerte Expressivität, indem sie versuchten, ihre Werke möglichst vom Inhalt zu befreien und ihre eigene Subjektivität beiseite zu lassen. Gleichzeitig waren sie fasziniert vom Unendlichen; über das Konzept der Leere gelang es ihnen in ihrer Arbeit, kritische Haltung und die Suche nach dem Absoluten zu verbinden.

Die Ausstellung Buveurs de quintessences, die erstmals 2018 in der Darling Foundry in Montreal (Quebec) zu sehen war, vereint kanadische und europäische Künstler, deren Praxis ein Interesse für die Dialektik der Leere in der heutigen Zeit offenbart. Mit minimalistischen Werken, die inhaltsleer, kurzlebig und unauffällig erscheinen, die ihren eigenen Status als Kunstwerk in Frage und die Suche nach dem Unendlichen in den Mittelpunkt stellen, positioniert sich die Ausstellung als Gegengewicht zur „Gesellschaft des Spektakels". Als Hymne auf die Meditation vereint sie Werke auf der Suche nach Transzendenz, deren Hauptanliegen die direkte Erfahrung der Besucher ist. In diesem Sinne sind wir aufgefordert, über den Blick hinaus zu denken und die grundlegende Definition von Kunst einer Neubetrachtung zu unterziehen.

Partner

In Zusammenarbeit mit: Fonderie Darling, Montreal.

Mit der Unterstützung von: Conseil des arts du Canada, Conseil des arts et lettres de Québec, Conseil des arts de Montréal, Délégation générale du Québec à Bruxelles, Ambassade du Canada, Botschaft der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in Luxemburg und Institut Français du Luxembourg.

Bilder

Adriana Disman, Thresholding, 2016/2019. Performance à la Fonderie Darling, Montréal, dans le cadre de l'exposition Buveurs de quintessences. Photo : Christian Bujold.

Vue de l'exposition Buveurs de quintessences au Casino Luxembourg, 2019. Marie-Claire Blais, Entrevoir le jour_horizon 7, 2014. Photo : Jessica Theis.

Vue de l'exposition Buveurs de quintessences au Casino Luxembourg, 2019. János Sugár, Fire in the Museum, 2008/2018. Feu constant pendant la durée de l'exposition. Photo : Jessica Theis.

Vue de l'exposition Buveurs de quintessences au Casino Luxembourg, 2019. Steve Bates, Run out and on to Infinity, 2018. Photo: Jessica Theis. 

Vue de l'exposition Buveurs de quintessences au Casino Luxembourg, 2019. Marie Cool Fabio Balducci, Sans titre, 2003/2018. Photo: Jessica Theis. 

Vue de l'exposition Buveurs de quintessences au Casino Luxembourg, 2019. Kelly Mark, The Kiss, 2007. Photo: Jessica Theis.