fr | de | en

Casino Luxembourg

OtherPerformance

Alasdair Asmussen Doyle, Before the Voyage Concluded, 2018

Judith Deschamps, A Certain Word, 2018.

16.1.2020 at 19:00

By the edges of our absence

artist(s): Alasdair Asmussen Doyle & Judith Deschamps

For their exhibition at Casino Luxembourg, the two artists Alasdair Asmussen Doyle (AU) and Judith Deschamps (FR) generate a unique process of hanging which, through corporal and spatial subjects, explore the suppleness of presence and absence. 

The principal work of each artist is presented individually and invites a response from the other artist. These two sets of work are displayed in succession and bridged by an event taking place on Thursday January 16th, 2020. This moment enacts a suspension within the exhibition when the previous works have been taken down and the new ones are yet to be installed. In-between two physical displays, the space hosts a guided a tour that articulates the work without seeing it. As such, the show exists in a state of flux, concerned as much with a work’s absence as its presence.

Alasdair Asmussen Doyle (born 1989, Australia) engages early film-making strategies, photochemical technologies and on-location approaches as the basis of a practice that analyses places and their changing nature. The artist lives in Belfast, Northern Ireland, where he is currently undertaking a PhD at the Belfast School of Art, in collaboration with aemi (artist and experimental moving image). Recent exhibitions and residencies include: An Lanntair, Outer Hebrides; LOA, London; The Serving Library, Liverpool; Galerie Martine Aboucaya, Paris; La Cité internationale des arts, Paris, and the Meat Markets, Melbourne.
 
Judith Deschamps (born 1986, France) works with materials taken from language, the body, and contemporary technologies, to generate structures of deformation resisting the Western models of purity, performance and rationality. Currently living between France and the United Kingdom, she has exhibited in various places such as The Serving Library, Liverpool; De Appel, Amsterdam; Frac Grand Large, Dunkirk; Museum of Art and History of Judaism, Paris; Centre Pompidou, Paris; Fondation Ricard, Paris; Mains d’Œuvres, Saint-Ouen, and Galerie Édouard Manet, Gennevilliers.

By the edges of our absence is the artists’ second exhibition presenting alongside one another, and their first in Luxembourg.

Read more
images

Alasdair Asmussen Doyle, Before the Voyage Concluded, 2018

Judith Deschamps, A Certain Word, 2018.

fr | de | en

Casino Luxembourg

VerschiedenesPerformance

Alasdair Asmussen Doyle, Before the Voyage Concluded, 2018

Judith Deschamps, A Certain Word, 2018.

16.1.2020 um 19:00

By the edges of our absence

künstler: Alasdair Asmussen Doyle & Judith Deschamps

Für ihre Ausstellung im Casino Luxembourg wählten die beiden Künstler eine Form der Präsentation, die ebenso wie die gezeigten Werke eine Betrachtung von Körper und Raum darstellt und den Wechsel zwischen An- und Abwesenheit inszeniert. 

Das jeweilige Hauptwerk der beiden Künstler wird einzeln installiert und führt zu einer Reaktion des anderen Künstlers. Diese Diptychen werden nicht gleichzeitig, sondern nacheinander präsentiert, wobei der Wechsel im Rahmen einer Veranstaltung am Donnerstagabend, dem 16. Januar 2020, erfolgt. Der Abbau der zuvor gezeigten Werke und das Warten auf die neuen bietet Gelegenheit zu einer Führung, die auf der Leere des Raumes und den dadurch geweckten Ideen und Fantasien basiert, nicht auf der Betrachtung der Werke. Auf diese Weise hinterfragt die Ausstellung im ständigen Wechsel sowohl die An- als auch die Abwesenheit der ausgestellten Arbeiten. 

Alasdair Asmussen Doyle (geb. 1989 in Australien) nutzt frühe filmische Strategien, photochemische Verfahren und räumliche Annäherungen als Grundlage einer Praxis, die Orte und ihre Veränderungen analysiert. Der Künstler lebt im nordirischen Belfast, wo er derzeit in Zusammenarbeit mit aemi (Artists & Experimental Moving Image) an der Belfast School of Art promoviert. Zu seinen jüngsten Ausstellungsorten und Residenzen gehören An Lanntair, Outer Hebrides (Schottland); LOA, London; The Serving Library, Liverpool; die Galerie Martine Aboucaya, Paris; La Cité internationale des Arts, Paris, und Meat Markets, Melbourne.

Judith Deschamps (geb. 1986 in Frankreich) arbeitet mit Materialien, die sie aus der Sprache, dem Körper und zeitgenössischen Technologien bezieht, um deformierte Strukturen zu erzeugen, die sich westlichen Vorstellungen von Reinheit, Leistung und Rationalität entziehen. Derzeit lebt sie abwechselnd in Frankreich und in Großbritannien. Ihre Ausstellungen waren an folgenden Orten zu sehen: The Serving Library, Liverpool; De Appel, Amsterdam; Frac Grand Large, Dünkirchen; Museum für Kunst und Geschichte des Judentums, Paris; Centre Pompidou, Paris; Fondation Ricard, Paris; Mains d'Œuvres, Saint-Ouen, und Galerie Édouard Manet, Gennevilliers.

By the edges of our absence ist die zweite gemeinsame Ausstellung der beiden Künstler und ihre erste in Luxemburg.

Read more
Bilder

Alasdair Asmussen Doyle, Before the Voyage Concluded, 2018

Judith Deschamps, A Certain Word, 2018.