fr | de | en

Casino Luxembourg

31.1.2020 at 18:30

Sitting for decades – Symposium Day 1

artist(s): Olivier Pestiaux (BE), Guy Frisch (LU), Linnea Semmerling (DE), Ever Present Orchestra (CH), Teresa Cos (IT, UK)

18:30 – 19:30 Progression
performance by plastic artist Olivier Pestiaux (BE) and musician Guy Frisch (United Instruments of Lucilin, LU)

The first performance of Alvin Luciers I am sitting in a room took place in 1970 at the Guggenheim Museum in New York in the form of a loudspeaker concert. Accompanying and in sync with the sound, video artist Mary Lucier projected the individual Polaroid photos of her Polaroid Image Series. This represents a visual analogy to Lucier's tape piece: a Polaroid photo of a living room was photographed with the same camera, the resulting photo was photographed again, etc.
 
Progression
refers to both the acoustic and visual output-to-input process of Mary and Alvin Lucier's works. However, unlike the Luciers, where both works of art were created independently of one another and were presented in parallel during the premiere, Progression is the experiment of linking the visual and acoustic levels in series and making them dependent on each other. The artist Olivier Pestiaux and the musician Guy Frisch are invited to carry out a translation process every day. While Pestiaux draws a graphic representation of Frisch's music, Frisch plays a musical representation of Pestiaux drawing.

19:30 – 21:00 Re-re-re-recording: The Lucier method in contemporary art
conference with Linnea Semmerling (DE)

Born 1989 in Hannover, Germany, Linnea Semmerling is a curator, researcher, and writer based in Brussels, Belgium. She is currently finalising her PhD project Listening on Display: Exhibiting Sounding Artworks 1960s-now at Maastricht University, The Netherlands. Semmerling holds a MA in Art Studies from the University of Amsterdam and was assistant curator at ZKM | Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe, Germany, where she organised exhibitions by, among others, Lynn Hershman Leeson and Ryoji Ikeda. Her curatorial and research interests concern socially engaged artistic practices and the relationships between technologies, institutions and the senses. 

21:30 – 22:30 Ever Present Orchestra (CH)
talk

The Ever Present Orchestra is dedicated to the presentation of the exceptional work of Alvin Lucier. The orchestra attempts to make Lucier’s beating-pattern-focused instrumental music approachable to a wide audience with its uncommon instrumentation of four electric guitars, three saxophones, four violins and piano. Along with classical musicians, the presence of prominent Lucier interpreters such as Stephen O’Malley and Oren Ambarchi, allows for the ensemble to appeal to a wider audience than the conventional contemporary music scene. 

The Orchestra was founded by Bernhard Rietbrock during the 85th Birthday Festival of Alvin Lucier at the Zurich University of the Arts. It was named after Lucier’s composition Ever Present (2002). Its unusual instrumentation came about as a result of the adaption for electric guitars of the Lucier piece Hanover (2015). Alvin Lucier kindly supports this initiative, was involved in the naming of the Ever Present Orchestra, and has recently composed a new piece for the ensemble titled Semicircle (2017). 

22:30 The archive of loops:  Open recording session  
performance by Teresa Cos (IT, UK) 

The Archive of Loops is an expanding archive of sound improvisations, which the artist regularly performs and records in her studio. Making use of looper and effect pedals she generate layers of sound through a multitude of sources which include voice, guitar, percussions and found instruments, playing with notions of order, disorder and collective memory formation. Each session is recorded encapsulating room and accidental sounds and is archived unedited. The archive is the source material for compositions that play along with the artist’s films and installations and crystallises in yearly releases. For this occasion she will perform an open recording session of the archive, which will include live sampling and manipulation of the live digital broadcast of the BBC international radio stations.
 
Teresa Cos makes use of improvisation and reiteration techniques to create audiovisual works which investigate the active and passive forms of repetition at the bases of human emotional and social processes. Her work offers a multi-scaled re-reading of history through an embodied experience of cultural and political landscapes, reflecting the tension between situated conditions of birth and forms of displaced nomadic becoming. Often permeated by a sense of tragicomedy, her work ultimately questions notions of proximity and distance, time (ir)reversibility and memory accumulation, as they emerge from the intersection of multiple converging time-lines. Presentations of her film works, installations and live performances include: ARGOS Centre for Art and Media, WIELS Contemporary Arts Centre, KANAL - Centre Pompidou, The MAC-Metropolitan Arts Centre Belfast, Drodesera/Live Works Festival, bb15, Fondazione Baruchello, the 14th Venice International Architecture Biennale, Q-O2 and Les Ateliers Claus.

Film collection and distribution: ARGOS Centre for Art and Media 

images

fr | de | en

Casino Luxembourg

31.1.2020 um 18:30

Sitting for decades – Symposium Day 1

künstler: Olivier Pestiaux (BE), Guy Frisch (LU), Linnea Semmerling (DE), Ever Present Orchestra (CH), Teresa Cos (IT, UK)

18.30 – 19.30 Uhr Progression
Performance des bildenden Künstlers Olivier Pestiaux (BE) und des Musikers Guy Frisch (United Instruments of Lucilin, LU) 

Die Erstaufführung von Alvin Luciers I am sitting in a room fand 1970 im Guggenheim Museum in New York in Form eines Lautsprecherkonzerts satt. Begleitend und synchron zur Musik projizierte die Videokünstlerin Mary Lucier die einzelnen Polaroid-Fotos ihrer Polaroid Image Series. Diese stellt eine visuelle Analogie zu Luciers Tonbandstück dar: Ein Polaroid-Foto eines Wohnzimmers wurde mit der gleichen Kamera abfotografiert, das daraus resultierende Foto erneut abfotografiert usw.
 
Progression nimmt Bezug auf sowohl den akustischen als auch auf den visuellen Output-to-Input-Prozess von Mary und Alvin Luciers Arbeiten. Anders jedoch als bei den Luciers, wo beide Kunstwerke unabhängig voneinander entstanden sind und im Rahmen der Erstaufführung parallel zueinander vorgeführt wurden, stellt Progression das Experiment dar, die visuelle und akustische Ebenen seriell zu verkoppeln und voneinander abhängig zu machen. Dazu sind der Künstler Olivier Pestiaux und der Musiker Guy Frisch eingeladen, jeden Tag einen Übersetzungsprozess zu vollziehen. Während Pestiaux eine grafische Darstellung von Frischs Musik zeichnet, spielt Frisch eine musikalische Darstellung von Pestiaux Zeichnung.

19.30 – 21.00 Uhr Re-re-re-recording: The Lucier method in contemporary art
Konferenz mit Linnea Semmerling (DE)

Linnea Semmerling, geboren 1989 in Hannover (DE), ist Kuratorin, Forscherin und Autorin und lebt in Brüssel (B). Aktuell arbeitet sie an der Fertigstellung ihres Promotionsprojekts Listening on Display: Exhibiting Sounding Artworks 1960s-now an der Universität Maastricht in den Niederlanden. Semmerling hat einen Master of Arts für Kunst der Universität Amsterdam (NL) und war kuratorische Assistentin am ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe (DE), wo sie u. a. Ausstellungen von Lynn Hershman Leeson und Ryoji Ikeda organisierte. Ihr besonderes kuratorisches und wissenschaftliches Interesse gilt sozial engagierten künstlerischen Praktiken und den Beziehungen zwischen Technologien, Institutionen und unseren Sinnen

21.30 – 22.30 Uhr Ever Present Orchestra (CH)
Gespräch

Das Ever Present Orchestra widmet sich der Darbietung des außergewöhnlichen Werks von Alvin Lucier. Mit seiner ungewöhnlichen Instrumentierung aus vier E-Gitarren, drei Saxofonen, vier Violinen und Klavier möchte das Orchester die schlagmusterorientierte Instrumentalmusik Luciers einem größeren Publikum zugänglich machen. Neben den klassischen MusikerInnen des Ensembles sind es vor allem Gäste wie die renommierten Lucier-Interpreten Stephen OMalley und Oren Ambarchi, die es ermöglichen, ein breiteres Publikum anzusprechen als die konventionelle Szene für zeitgenössische Musik. 

Gegründet wurde das Orchester von Bernhard Rietbrock anlässlich eines Festivals zu Ehren des 85. Geburtstags von Alvin Lucier an der Züricher Hochschule der Künste. Benannt ist es nach Luciers Komposition Ever Present (2002). Die ungewöhnliche Instrumentierung ist das Resultat der Adaption von Luciers Stück Hanover (2015) für E-Gitarren. Die Initiative erfolgte mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch Alvin Lucier, der auch an der Namensgebung des Ever Present Orchestra beteiligt war und kürzlich ein neues Stück mit dem Namen „Semicircle(2017) für das Ensemble komponiert hat. 

22.30 Uhr The archive of loops: Open recording session 
Performance von Teresa Cos (IT, UK) 

The archive of loops ist ein wachsendes Archiv von Klangimprovisationen, die die Künstlerin regelmäßig in ihrem Studio aufführt und aufzeichnet. Mit Looper- und Effektpedalen erzeugt sie Klangschichten aus einer Vielzahl von Quellen, darunter Gesang, Gitarre, Schlagzeug und gefundene Instrumente. Sie spielt mit den Begriffen von Ordnung, Unordnung und kollektiver Gedächtnisbildung. Jede Sitzung wird unter Einbeziehung von Raum- und Störgeräuschen aufgezeichnet und unbearbeitet archiviert. Das Archiv ist das Ausgangsmaterial für Kompositionen, die zusammen mit den Filmen und Installationen der Künstlerin spielen und in jährlichen Veröffentlichungen kristallisieren. Zu diesem Anlass wird Teresa Cos eine offene Aufnahmesitzung des Archivs durchführen, die Live-Sampling und Manipulation der digitalen Live-Übertragung der internationalen BBC-Radiosender umfasst.

Teresa Cos verwendet Improvisations- und Wiederholungstechniken, um audiovisuelle Werke zu schaffen, die die aktiven und passiven Formen der Wiederholung auf der Grundlage menschlicher emotionaler und sozialer Prozesse untersuchen. Ihre Arbeit bietet ein vielschichtiges Nachlesen der Geschichte durch ein verkörpertes Erleben kultureller und politischer Landschaften, das die Spannung zwischen den räumlichen Geburtsbedingungen und den Formen des vertriebenen Nomadenwerdens widerspiegelt. Ihre Arbeit ist oft von einem Gefühl der Tragikomödie durchdrungen und hinterfragt letztendlich Vorstellungen von Nähe und Distanz, Zeit (ir) reversibilität und Gedächtnisakkumulation, wie sie sich aus der Überschneidung mehrerer konvergierender Zeitlinien ergeben. Präsentationen ihrer Filmarbeiten, Installationen und Live-Performances umfassen: ARGOS Center for Art and Media, WIELS-Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst, KANAL - Centre Pompidou, MAC-Metropolitan Arts Center Belfast, Drodesera / Live Works Festival, bb15, Fondazione Baruchello, the14th Internationale Architekturbiennale Venedig, Q-O2 und Les Ateliers Claus.
 

Filmsammlung und -verleih: ARGOS Centre for Art and Media 

Bilder