fr | de | en

Casino Luxembourg

OtherPerformance

Alasdair Asmussen Doyle, Before the Voyage Concluded, 2018

Judith Deschamps, A Certain Word, 2018.

16.1.2020 at 19:00

By the edges of our absence

artist(s): Alasdair Asmussen Doyle & Judith Deschamps

For their exhibition at Casino Luxembourg, the two artists Alasdair Asmussen Doyle (AU) and Judith Deschamps (FR) generate a unique process of hanging which, through corporal and spatial subjects, explore the suppleness of presence and absence. 

The principal work of each artist is presented individually and invites a response from the other artist. These two sets of work are displayed in succession and bridged by an event taking place on Thursday January 16th, 2020. This moment enacts a suspension within the exhibition when the previous works have been taken down and the new ones are yet to be installed. In-between two physical displays, the space hosts a guided a tour that articulates the work without seeing it. As such, the show exists in a state of flux, concerned as much with a work’s absence as its presence.

Alasdair Asmussen Doyle (born 1989, Australia) engages early film-making strategies, photochemical technologies and on-location approaches as the basis of a practice that analyses places and their changing nature. The artist lives in Belfast, Northern Ireland, where he is currently undertaking a PhD at the Belfast School of Art, in collaboration with aemi (artist and experimental moving image). Recent exhibitions and residencies include: An Lanntair, Outer Hebrides; LOA, London; The Serving Library, Liverpool; Galerie Martine Aboucaya, Paris; La Cité internationale des arts, Paris, and the Meat Markets, Melbourne.
 
Judith Deschamps (born 1986, France) works with materials taken from language, the body, and contemporary technologies, to generate structures of deformation resisting the Western models of purity, performance and rationality. Currently living between France and the United Kingdom, she has exhibited in various places such as The Serving Library, Liverpool; De Appel, Amsterdam; Frac Grand Large, Dunkirk; Museum of Art and History of Judaism, Paris; Centre Pompidou, Paris; Fondation Ricard, Paris; Mains d’Œuvres, Saint-Ouen, and Galerie Édouard Manet, Gennevilliers.

By the edges of our absence is the artists’ second exhibition presenting alongside one another, and their first in Luxembourg.

Read more
images

Alasdair Asmussen Doyle, Before the Voyage Concluded, 2018

Judith Deschamps, A Certain Word, 2018.

fr | de | en

Casino Luxembourg

AutrePerformance

Alasdair Asmussen Doyle, Before the Voyage Concluded, 2018

Judith Deschamps, A Certain Word, 2018.

16.1.2020 à 19:00

By the edges of our absence

artiste(s): Alasdair Asmussen Doyle & Judith Deschamps

Pour leur exposition au Casino Luxembourg, Alasdair Asmussen Doyle (AU) et Judith Deschamps (FR) ont imaginé des œuvres et un processus d’accrochage axés sur le corps et l’espace, observant un mouvement d’oscillation entre présence et absence. 

L’œuvre principale de chaque artiste est installée individuellement et donne lieu à une réponse de la part de l’autre artiste. Ces deux diptyques ne sont pas présentés simultanément mais se font suite, la soirée du jeudi 16 janvier 2020 coïncidant avec le démontage des œuvres précédemment accrochées et l’attente de celles à venir. Cette journée de suspension est l’occasion d’accueillir une visite guidée, prenant appui sur l’espace vide et l’imaginaire qu’il suscite, plutôt que sur la vision des œuvres. 

Alasdair Asmussen Doyle (né en 1989 en Australie) adopte d’anciennes stratégies de tournage, des technologies photochimiques et des approches de l’espace qui lui permettent d’observer la nature changeante des lieux. L’artiste vit à Belfast, en Irlande du Nord, où il prépare actuellement un doctorat à la Belfast School of Art, en collaboration avec Artists & Experimental Moving Image (aemi). Ses expositions et résidences récentes incluent : An Lanntair, Outer Hebrides (Écosse) ; LOA, Londres ; The Serving Library, Liverpool ; Galerie Martine Aboucaya, Paris ; La Cité internationale des arts, Paris, et Meat Markets, Melbourne.
 
Judith Deschamps
(née en 1986 en France) travaille avec des matériaux provenant du langage, du corps et des technologies contemporaines pour générer des structures de déformation résistant aux modèles occidentaux de pureté, de performance et de rationalité. Vivant actuellement entre la France et le Royaume-Uni, elle a exposé et performé dans diverses institutions telles que The Serving Library, Liverpool ; De Appel, Amsterdam ;  Frac Grand Large, Dunkerque ; le Musée d’art et d’histoire du Judaïsme, Paris ; le Centre Pompidou, Paris ; la Fondation Ricard, Paris ;  Mains d’Œuvres, Saint-Ouen, et la Galerie Édouard Manet, Gennevilliers.

By the edges of our absence est la deuxième exposition commune des deux artistes et la première au Luxembourg.

En savoir plus
images

Alasdair Asmussen Doyle, Before the Voyage Concluded, 2018

Judith Deschamps, A Certain Word, 2018.