fr | de | en

Casino Luxembourg

31.1.2020 at 18:30

Sitting for decades – Symposium Day 1

artist(s): Olivier Pestiaux (BE), Guy Frisch (LU), Linnea Semmerling (DE), Ever Present Orchestra (CH), Teresa Cos (IT, UK)

18:30 – 19:30 Progression
performance by plastic artist Olivier Pestiaux (BE) and musician Guy Frisch (United Instruments of Lucilin, LU)

The first performance of Alvin Luciers I am sitting in a room took place in 1970 at the Guggenheim Museum in New York in the form of a loudspeaker concert. Accompanying and in sync with the sound, video artist Mary Lucier projected the individual Polaroid photos of her Polaroid Image Series. This represents a visual analogy to Lucier's tape piece: a Polaroid photo of a living room was photographed with the same camera, the resulting photo was photographed again, etc.
 
Progression
refers to both the acoustic and visual output-to-input process of Mary and Alvin Lucier's works. However, unlike the Luciers, where both works of art were created independently of one another and were presented in parallel during the premiere, Progression is the experiment of linking the visual and acoustic levels in series and making them dependent on each other. The artist Olivier Pestiaux and the musician Guy Frisch are invited to carry out a translation process every day. While Pestiaux draws a graphic representation of Frisch's music, Frisch plays a musical representation of Pestiaux drawing.

19:30 – 21:00 Re-re-re-recording: The Lucier method in contemporary art
conference with Linnea Semmerling (DE)

Born 1989 in Hannover, Germany, Linnea Semmerling is a curator, researcher, and writer based in Brussels, Belgium. She is currently finalising her PhD project Listening on Display: Exhibiting Sounding Artworks 1960s-now at Maastricht University, The Netherlands. Semmerling holds a MA in Art Studies from the University of Amsterdam and was assistant curator at ZKM | Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe, Germany, where she organised exhibitions by, among others, Lynn Hershman Leeson and Ryoji Ikeda. Her curatorial and research interests concern socially engaged artistic practices and the relationships between technologies, institutions and the senses. 

21:30 – 22:30 Ever Present Orchestra (CH)
talk

The Ever Present Orchestra is dedicated to the presentation of the exceptional work of Alvin Lucier. The orchestra attempts to make Lucier’s beating-pattern-focused instrumental music approachable to a wide audience with its uncommon instrumentation of four electric guitars, three saxophones, four violins and piano. Along with classical musicians, the presence of prominent Lucier interpreters such as Stephen O’Malley and Oren Ambarchi, allows for the ensemble to appeal to a wider audience than the conventional contemporary music scene. 

The Orchestra was founded by Bernhard Rietbrock during the 85th Birthday Festival of Alvin Lucier at the Zurich University of the Arts. It was named after Lucier’s composition Ever Present (2002). Its unusual instrumentation came about as a result of the adaption for electric guitars of the Lucier piece Hanover (2015). Alvin Lucier kindly supports this initiative, was involved in the naming of the Ever Present Orchestra, and has recently composed a new piece for the ensemble titled Semicircle (2017). 

22:30 The archive of loops:  Open recording session  
performance by Teresa Cos (IT, UK) 

The Archive of Loops is an expanding archive of sound improvisations, which the artist regularly performs and records in her studio. Making use of looper and effect pedals she generate layers of sound through a multitude of sources which include voice, guitar, percussions and found instruments, playing with notions of order, disorder and collective memory formation. Each session is recorded encapsulating room and accidental sounds and is archived unedited. The archive is the source material for compositions that play along with the artist’s films and installations and crystallises in yearly releases. For this occasion she will perform an open recording session of the archive, which will include live sampling and manipulation of the live digital broadcast of the BBC international radio stations.
 
Teresa Cos makes use of improvisation and reiteration techniques to create audiovisual works which investigate the active and passive forms of repetition at the bases of human emotional and social processes. Her work offers a multi-scaled re-reading of history through an embodied experience of cultural and political landscapes, reflecting the tension between situated conditions of birth and forms of displaced nomadic becoming. Often permeated by a sense of tragicomedy, her work ultimately questions notions of proximity and distance, time (ir)reversibility and memory accumulation, as they emerge from the intersection of multiple converging time-lines. Presentations of her film works, installations and live performances include: ARGOS Centre for Art and Media, WIELS Contemporary Arts Centre, KANAL - Centre Pompidou, The MAC-Metropolitan Arts Centre Belfast, Drodesera/Live Works Festival, bb15, Fondazione Baruchello, the 14th Venice International Architecture Biennale, Q-O2 and Les Ateliers Claus.

Film collection and distribution: ARGOS Centre for Art and Media 

images

fr | de | en

Casino Luxembourg

31.1.2020 à 18:30

Sitting for decades – Symposium Day 1

artiste(s): Olivier Pestiaux (BE), Guy Frisch (LU), Linnea Semmerling (DE), Ever Present Orchestra (CH), Teresa Cos (IT, UK)

18h30 – 19h30 Progression
performance du plasticien Olivier Pestiaux (BE) et du musicien Guy Frisch (United Instruments of Lucilin, LU)

La première représentation de I am sitting in a room d'Alvin Lucier a eu lieu en 1970 au Musée Guggenheim de New York sous la forme d'un concert avec haut-parleurs. En accompagnement et en synchronisation avec le son, la vidéaste Mary Lucier a projeté des photos Polaroid, ceci en une analogie visuelle de la bande d'enregistrement : une photo d'un salon a été photographiée avec le même appareil photo, la photo résultante a été photographiée à nouveau, etc.
 
Progression fait référence au processus acoustique et visuel des œuvres de Mary et Alvin Lucier. Cependant, contrairement aux Lucier, où les deux œuvres ont été créées indépendamment l'une de l'autre et ont été présentées en parallèle lors de la Première, Progression relie les aspect visuel et acoustique en les rendant dépendants l'un de l'autre. Tandis que le plasticien Olivier Pestiaux dessine une représentation graphique de la musique de Guy Frisch, ce dernierréinterprète musicalement le dessin de Pestiaux.

19h30 – 21h00 Re-re-re-recording: The Lucier method in contemporary art
conférence avec Linnea Semmerling (DE)

Née en 1989 à Hanovre (Allemagne), Linnea Semmerling est une curatrice, chercheuse et auteure basée à Bruxelles, Belgique. Elle achève actuellement son projet de doctorat Listening on Display: Exhibiting Sounding Artworks 1960s-now à l’université de Maastricht aux Pays-Bas. Semmerling est titulaire d’une maîtrise en beaux-arts de l’université d’Amsterdam et a été conservatrice adjointe au ZKM | Centre d’art et de médias de Karlsruhe (Allemagne), où elle a organisé des expositions de Lynn Hershman Leeson et Ryoji Ikeda notamment. Ses intérêts en matière de conservation et de recherche portent sur les pratiques artistiques socialement engagées et sur les relations entre les technologies, les institutions et les sens.

21h30 – 22h30 Ever Present Orchestra (CH)
présentation-conférence

The Ever Present Orchestra est dédié à la présentation de l’œuvre exceptionnelle d’Alvin Lucier. L’orchestre cherche à rendre la musique instrumentale de Lucier – centrée sur l’idée de battement – accessible au plus grand nombre avec son instrumentation peu commune : quatre guitares électriques, trois saxophones, quatre violons et un piano. La présence d’éminents interprètes de Lucier tels que Stephen O’Malley et Oren Ambarchi aux côtés de musiciens classiques permet à l’ensemble de toucher un plus large public que la scène de la musique contemporaine conventionnelle.

L’orchestre, fondé par Bernhard Rietbrock lors du festival organisé à la Haute École d’art de Zurich à l’occasion du 85e anniversaire d’Alvin Lucier, tient son nom du morceau Ever Present du compositeur (2002). Son instrumentation inhabituelle lui vient de l’adaptation du morceau Hanover (2015) pour guitares électriques. Alvin Lucier soutient aimablement cette initiative, a été impliqué dans le choix du nom « Ever Present Orchestra » et a récemment composé un nouveau morceau pour l’ensemble, baptisé Semicircle (2017). 

22h30 The archive of loops: Open recording session 
performance de Teresa Cos (IT, UK) 

The Archive of Loops est une archive d'improvisations sonores, que Teresa Cos interprète et enregistre régulièrement dans son studio. Utilisant des boucles et des pédales d'effet, l'artiste génère des couches de son à travers une multitude de sources qui incluent la voix, la guitare, les percussions et les instruments trouvés, jouant avec les notions d'ordre, de désordre et de formation de mémoire collective. Chaque session est enregistrée encapsulant la pièce et les sons accidentels et est archivée sans modification. Les archives sont le matériau source des compositions qui accompagnent les films et les installations de l'artiste et se cristallisent dans des sorties annuelles. À cette occasion, Teresa Cos effectuera une session d'enregistrement ouverte des archives, qui comprendra l'échantillonnage et la manipulation en direct de la diffusion numérique de la station de radio internationale BBC.
 
 
Teresa Cos utilise des techniques d'improvisation et de réitération pour créer ses œuvres audiovisuelles qui étudient les formes actives et passives de répétition à la base des processus émotionnels et sociaux humains. Son travail propose une relecture multi-échelles de l'histoire à travers une expérience incarnée de paysages culturels et politiques, reflétant la tension entre les conditions de naissance situées et les formes de devenir nomade déplacé. Souvent imprégnée d'un sentiment de tragi-comédie, son travail interroge finalement les notions de proximité et de distance, de réversibilité du temps et d'accumulation de mémoire, telles qu'elles émergent de l'intersection de multiples lignes de temps convergentes. Les présentations de ses œuvres cinématographiques, installations et performances « live » incluent : ARGOS Center for Art and Media, WIELS Contemporary Arts Center, KANAL - Centre Pompidou, The MAC-Metropolitan Arts Center Belfast, Drodesera / Live Works Festival, bb15, Fondazione Baruchello, the14th Biennale internationale d'architecture de Venise, Q-O2 et Les Ateliers Claus.

Collection et distribution de films : ARGOS Centre for Art and Media

images