fr | de | en

Casino Luxembourg

2.2.2020 at 11:30

Sitting for decades – Symposium Day 3

artist(s): Olivier Pestiaux (BE), Guy Frisch (LU), katrinem (DE), Patrick Muller (LU), Robert Heel (DE)

11:30 – 12:00 Progression
performance  by plastic artist Olivier Pestiaux (BE) and musician Guy Frisch (United Instruments of Lucilin, LU)

The first performance of Alvin Luciers I am sitting in a room took place in 1970 at the Guggenheim Museum in New York in the form of a loudspeaker concert. Accompanying and in sync with the music, video artist Mary Lucier projected the individual Polaroid photos of her Polaroid Image Series. This represents a visual analogy to Lucier's tape piece: a Polaroid photo of a living room was photographed with the same camera, the resulting photo was photographed again, etc.
 
Progression refers to both the acoustic and visual output-to-input process of Mary and Alvin Lucier's works. However, unlike the Luciers, where both works of art were created independently of one another and were presented in parallel during the premiere, Progression is the experiment of linking the visual and acoustic levels in series and making them dependent on each other. The artist Olivier Pestiaux and the musician Guy Frisch are invited to carry out a translation process every day. While Pestiaux draws a graphic representation of Frisch's music, Frisch plays a musical representation of Pestiaux drawing.)

 
12:00 – 13:30 Path of awareness_CasinoLuxembourg
soundwalk with katrinem (DE)

katrinem, born 1969 in Augsburg, lives and works in Linz (AU) and Berlin (DE). The examination of sound and space has long been an integral part of katrinem’s artistic work. 

For over 12 years, katrinem has been investigating in her artistic research the walkability of cities and its associated spatial perception. 
Two aspects of her current artistic research and process are emphasized: observing a site (Platzstudien) and personally experiencing space while walking (SchuhzuGehör_path of awareness). For the project GANGARTEN (go your gait! part_6), katrinem received a grant from Linz Export and with gaits in albufeira (go your gait! part_13) was prizewinner of the competition, Europe – a sound panorama. 

katrinem is continually broadening, challenging and refining her individual approaches to the subject of sound and space through exchange and collaborations with artists and researchers. Of particular mention are: 
Sam Auinger, Elena Biserna, Gernot Böhme, Elen Flügge, Annea Lockwood, Bruce Odland, Holger Schulze, Penelope Wehrli a.o. 

Free / Registration: visites@casino-luxembourg.lu

14:00 – 18:00 Haptic sound
Workshop for adults and teenagers (14+) with Patrick Muller (LU) and Robert Heel (DE)

The participants of the workshop bring along an object of their choice of the approximate size of a shoe box. After a brief introduction to the topic of sound, the participants provide their objects with a contact microphone to transform them into a kind of electroacoustic instrument that generates sound through haptics – touching, swiping, tapping. The various sound objects are then assembled to form a homogeneous and coordinated sculpture. Audio effects and digital logic circuits can be programmed optionally. The result is a sound sculpture – an experimental musical instrument made of different instruments – that can be experienced by visitors at Casino Luxembourg until 23 February 2020. 

Languages: LU, DE, EN
Admission fee: 30 EUR 
Registration: visites@casino-luxembourg.lu
 

19h00 – 20h00 Patrick Muller & Robert Heel
performance

Patrick Muller is a creative artist in the field of sound art and multimedia installations who focuses on interactive systems and experimental design processes. He develops concepts, creates artistic content, and manages projects in the art field.
Patrick teaches at the SRH Hochschule der Populären Künste (hdpk) in Berlin and is a consultant for the award-winning creative studio OBLIQUE.

Robert Heel is a Berlin based audiovisual artist and electronic musician. His audio and audiovisiual pieces are deeply rooted in drone, ambient and dub. 

Robert has been pushing visual music and concept-driven audio production for a long time. Traveling between live visuals, exhibitions with performances, art-prints and deep dubby techno he found his own voice – distinct but unpredictable. 

Past screenings include EMAF, European Media Art Festival, Osnabrück, Todaysartfestival, The Hague, Amsterdam Film Experience, Amsterdam, backup.award, Weimar, General Public, Berlin, Bauhaus Uni Weimar, Academy of Fine Arts, Helsinki, INDEX Festival, NYC and others. 

images

fr | de | en

Casino Luxembourg

2.2.2020 à 11:30

Sitting for decades – Symposium Day 3

artiste(s): Olivier Pestiaux (BE), Guy Frisch (LU), katrinem (DE), Patrick Muller (LU), Robert Heel (DE)

11h30 – 12h00 Progression
performance du plasticien Olivier Pestiaux (BE) et du musicien Guy Frisch (United Instruments of Lucilin, LU)

La première représentation de I am sitting in a room d'Alvin Lucier a eu lieu en 1970 au Musée Guggenheim de New York sous la forme d'un concert avec haut-parleurs. En accompagnement et en synchronisation avec le son, la vidéaste Mary Lucier a projeté des photos Polaroid, ceci en une analogie visuelle de la bande d'enregistrement : une photo d'un salon a été photographiée avec le même appareil photo, la photo résultante a été photographiée à nouveau, etc.
 
Progression fait référence au processus acoustique et visuel des œuvres de Mary et Alvin Lucier. Cependant, contrairement aux Lucier, où les deux œuvres ont été créées indépendamment l'une de l'autre et ont été présentées en parallèle lors de la Première, Progression relie les aspect visuel et acoustique en les rendant dépendants l'un de l'autre. Tandis que le plasticien Olivier Pestiaux dessine une représentation graphique de la musique de Guy Frisch, ce dernierréinterprète musicalement le dessin de Pestiaux. )
 
12h00 – 13h30 Path of awareness_CasinoLuxembourg
promenade sonore avec katrinem (DE)

Née en 1969 à Augsbourg (Allemagne), katrinem vit et travaille à Linz (Autriche) et à Berlin. L’étude du son et de l’espace fait depuis longtemps partie intégrante de son travail artistique. 

Depuis plus de douze ans, katrinem dédie sa recherche artistique à la praticabilité piétonne des villes et à la perception de l’espace qui y est liée. Deux aspects de sa recherche et de ses procédés artistiques actuels méritent d’être soulignés : l’observation d’un site (Platzstudien) et l’expérimentation personnelle d’un espace qu’on parcourt à pied (SchuhzuGehör_path of awareness). katrinem a reçu une bourse de Linz Export pour le projet GANGARTEN (go your gait! part_6) et a été lauréate du concours Europe – un panorama sonore avec gaits in albufeira (go your gait! part_13). 

katrinem élargit, interroge et aiguise en permanence sa propre approche au son et à l’espace à travers l’échange et la collaboration avec d’autres artistes et chercheurs, notamment Sam Auinger, Elena Biserna, Gernot Böhme, Elen Flügge, Annea Lockwood, Bruce Odland, Holger Schulze et Penelope Wehrli. 

Gratuit / Inscription : visites@casino-luxembourg.lu

14h00 – 18h00 Haptic sound
Atelier pour adultes et adolescents (14+) avec Patrick Muller (LU) et Robert Heel (DE)

Les participants à l'atelier apportent un objet de leur choix de la taille approximative d'une boîte à chaussures. Après une brève introduction au sujet du son, les participants fournissent à leurs objets un microphone de contact pour les transformer en une sorte d'instrument électroacoustique qui génère du son grâce à l'haptique (sensation du toucher). Les différents objets sonores sont ensuite assemblés pour former une sculpture homogène et coordonnée. Des effets audio et des circuits logiques numériques peuvent être programmés en option. Le résultat est une sculpture sonore – un instrument de musique expérimental composé de différents instruments – qui peut être expérimenté par les visiteurs du Casino Luxembourg jusqu'au 23 février 2020.

Langues : LU, DE, EN
Frais d'inscription : 30 EUR 
Inscription : visites@casino-luxembourg.lu
 

19h00 – 20h00 Patrick Muller & Robert Heel
performance

Patrick Muller (né en 1978, vit et travaille à Berlin) est un artiste et créatif luxembourgeois évoluant dans les domaines de l’art sonore et des installations multimédia axées sur les systèmes interactifs et les processus de conception expérimentale. Il développe des concepts, crée du contenu artistique et pilote des projets dans le secteur de l’art. Il travaille actuellement sur une série d’œuvres sonores pour le pavillon luxembourgeois à l’Expo 2020 Dubai. Patrick Muller enseigne au SRH Hochschule der populären Künste à Berlin, il est le cofondateur de *Invisible Design et est consultant pour OBLIQUE, studio de création primé basé également basé à Berlin.

Robert Heel est un artiste audiovisuel et musicien électronique basé à Berlin. Ses compositions audio et audiovisuelles sont profondément ancrées dans le drone, l’ambient et le dub. 

Robert défend depuis longtemps la musique visuelle et la production audio conceptuelle. Naviguant entre visuels live, expositions avec représentations, reproductions d’art et deep dub techno, il a trouvé sa propre voix, distincte et cependant imprévisible. 

Ses œuvres ont été notamment projetées au European Media Art Festival (EMAF), Osnabruck, au festival Todaysart, La Haye, au Amsterdam Film eXperience, Amsterdam, au backup.award, Weimar, au General Public, Berlin, à l’université Bauhaus de Weimar, à l’Académie des beaux-arts d’Helsinki et au festival INDEX, New York. 

images